A dress for a wedding

IMG_20140829_135112

Those that follow me on instagram would have seen some of the pictures of this as a work in progress. It spent a lot of time in progress to be honest. I’m not sure how many hours it took me to make this dress, probably at least 30, maybe more. There is a TON of hand sewing which was time consuming, then add on french seams and some misadventures in measurment and you have one time consuming dress!

IMAG1252

The fabric is a pink silk satin that I got from Tessuti while in sydney a few months back. Origionally it was going to line a coat, but I found fabric I liked better for that one so repurposed it. the bodice is underlined (more hand stitching!) with a silk/cotton blend. The skirt is unlined, however as the fabric is slightly sheer I am wearing a (purchased) white slip under it.

IMAG1264

So lets talk about some of the disasters of this project: because I used the bodice from one size but the pleats from another I knew my skirt panels would not line up. To combat this, I measured the bodice against the skirt panels and cut them to match at the waist, grading out over my hips. Unfortunatly I made a big mistake in trying to cut the centre front skirt panel on the fold. It ended up being 3-4 cm too short to match. Cue FREAK OUT. I knew that unpicking the seams to let them out a little would probably not work as the fabric is so fine it was bound to leave holes and loook awful. Instead I decided to cut from the top of the skirt until it matched the bodice, diameter wise, if not along the seams. This point being 3 inches down. This left me with two new problems, firstly, the seams no where near aligned, and secondly the dress was now an awkward length, too long for a midi, not long enough for a gown.

I decided to add some ribbon to the waistband to (sort of) solve problem #1. For problem #2 I added a 3 inch strip of fabric to the bottom. I was prepared to hide that with ribbon as well, but in the end decided it looked more “design feature” than horrible. Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself!

Disasters aside, I adore this dress. It’s probably near to being my best work and I did so many new things for the first time. I am particularly proud of my hand rolled hem and the invisible zipper. I have come to the conclusion that I (and I suspect other seamstresses) are much more inclined to notice flaws in our work than anyone else. Plus a very drunk girl told me I looked like a princess, so I’m calling it a winner!

IMAG1262

I wore it to the wedding of my dear friend A, who looked like a princess herself and positivly glowed with joy. It was a wonderful afternoon/evening and I just know her and her new husband will spend many joyful years together.

IMAG1276_1

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “A dress for a wedding

Leave a Reply

