Whenever I feel the need to exercise, I lie down until it goes away: Sew Dolly Clackett

At last I have finished my sew Dolly Clackett dress! For those of you playing at home, Sew Dolly Clackett is a sewing competition to celebrate the marriage of Dolly Clackett herself, Roisin. As a hardcore stalker fan of Roisin I was super pumped for this challenge. An excuse to blatantly rip-off some sweet sewing action? I was so in!

This make was freakin’ full of challenges. Not going to lie, at one point I wanted to throw my machine and half-made dress out the window. Then I had a gin & tonic and felt better about the world. After several more I felt even better, but in no state to be sewing! (don’t worry dear readers, I didn’t go on a drunken sewing rampage!).

IMAG0929_1

This is Simplicity 2444 a tried and true pattern that somehow refused to come together properly. Oh well, in the end I got there. I used this sweet measuring tape quilting from spotlight, which has enough body to make a pleasingly big skirt.

IMAG0934
Awkward pose is akward.

In true Dolly Clackett style paired it with fancy shoes – in this case some silver glitter pumps. Because who doesn’t love silver glitter shoes. unfortunately I have no idea what brand they are, but I got them from Nordstrom. My hair bow is Alannah Hill.

IMAG0935
Pattern matching FTW. Why yes, I do feel pretty pleased with myself 🙂

Despite the hassle when sewing i really love this dress. It’s fun and flattering with a touch of Meta. As I said in my last post, it was inspired by Roisin’s Meta dress, which in my stalking of her makes I have always admired.

IMAG0931

Congratulations Roisin and Nic, I hope you have many happy years together!

Until next time!
Xx

PS I even went with a Dolly Clackett-style title for this post, in case you were thinking WTF is with the title man.

Leave a Reply

