Eat like a Lady – the Koko Black Desert Degustation

[A note before we begin – this event was actually some time ago and has been sitting in my drafts for weeks, waiting for me to finish & publish it]

My friend, SS invited me to this event an age ago. Unlike the usual occurrence of booking and buying something months in advance, my interest did not dilute in the slightest. In fact with every passing week I got more and more excited. This excitement reached its peak when our little group saw the photos and review of the Melbourne event on Popcorn and Toast. Trust me when I say the second I saw this, I could not wait another second for Canberra’s turn!

I had a fairly horrific day at work the day of the event – last minute demands meant I was at work until 8, with the event due to start at 8:30. Luckily all went well, and I was one of the first few to enter. Excitement was at fever pitch as the first course arrived – a cocktail with Vodka, Creme de Cacao, Cointreau and Blood Orange served with a Chocolate Straw.
cocktail2

It was perfection, not too sweet but not at all bitter. Drinking through the chocolate straw was a novelty, but one that wore off a little for me – I ended up eating the straw then drinking the cocktail normally

After this it was full steam ahead – the pastry chef and chocolateer came out between each course to tell us about what was to come, which was interesting – I like learning about sweets almost as much as I like eating them!

Next up was Dark Chocolate Mousse Rolled in Chocolate with Shortbread Biscuit, Finished in Velvet Atomised Chocolate. It was just as delightful as the cocktail. The chocolate mousse was to die for, and the hints on vanilla were subtle, but noticeable. As a vanilla fan, I also loved the candied vanilla that sat on top.
chocolate
This was followed by a Passionfruit Marshmallow on top of a Milk Chocolate & Vanilla Semifreddo with a crunchy Feuilletine Base. I also love marshmallow, so this was also hitting the spot for me. I also loved the feuilletine base, which slightly crunchy and wafer-ey
passionfruit

Then we had Caramelised Milk Chocolate Mousse on Chocolate Croquante with Butterscotch Granita. I am not a huge fan of salted caramel, so I wasn’t expecting to love this, but it surprised me and I have to say I’ve been converted to the delights of salted caramel.
salted caramel

Last but not least – a Raspberry Soufflé with Hot Chocolate Centre & Dark Chocolate Ice Cream Dusted with Freeze Dried Raspberries. I was looking forward to this all night, I love raspberries and soufflé so was expecting it to be a real winner. It did not disappoint!
rasberry 2
rasberry
I finished up with a peppermint tea – I really didn’t think I’d be able to handle more chocolate at that point! Please do excuse my appearance in this photo’s – after an 11 hour day I wasn’t really looking (or feeling!) my best.
Blouse, Blazer, Skirt and Ring : Alannah Hill (This Feminine Lady suit, )| Bracelet: Catch of the Day (via a bulk accessories pack)

Leave a Reply

