What I Wore – International Women’s Day

I hope you will allow me a brief detour from the main, slightly frivolous subject of this blog. As you may be aware, 8 March is celebrated as International Women’s Day (Google has changed its logo for the day to make note of this). The United Nations theme for this year’s event is Empower Women – End Hunger and Poverty. I am lucky to have been born into a family, and live in a society that (for the most part) respects me as an individual and grants me the same rights as everyone else. Some women and girls are not nearly this lucky. So on this day, celebrate just how far we have come: in Australia women in all states and territories were only granted the right to vote in 1901; now we have a female Prime Minister and Governor-General; and how far we have yet to go. While you celebrate please spare a thought for those of our sisters who are still far behind in their journey to equality – ensure that you support charities that work for their rights, both reproductive and otherwise, and ask your representatives to do the same.

On that note, on to the outfit. I actually wore this yesterday to the International Women’s Day lunch I attended. The purple is for dignity, one of the colours of International Women’s Day (the others are Green for hope and white for purity). These are also the colours that were used by the suffragette movement.

P1000705
More moderately insane poses
P1000703
You may have noticed that I have dip-dyed my hair a peachy-pink shade
P1000701
(please excuse the assorted junk lying around)
Cardigan:Alannah Hill
Shirt: Valley Girl
Skirt: Miss Shop (modified by me)
Shoes: Marc by Marc Jacobs
Tights and necklace: Gifts

I hope you are all enjoying International Women’s Day!
xx

Leave a Reply

